The 2023 Ballon d’Or is rapidly approaching, marking the sixty-seventh edition of the most prestigious individual award in football. After Karim Benzema’s well-deserved success, the anticipation surrounding this year’s winner is more uncertain than ever. Alongside the men’s Ballon d’Or, the women’s Golden Ball, the Yashin Trophy (best young player), and the Kopa Trophy (best Under 21) will also be bestowed. Here’s all the essential information to keep you updated on the ceremony:

When and Where will the 2023 Ballon d’Or Ceremony Take Place?

The official UEFA website has already announced the date for the award ceremony: it’s set to take place on the 30th of October at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris.

Who are the Nominees for the 2023 Ballon d’Or?

This year’s list of 30 finalists has some surprises. Notably, Cristiano Ronaldo’s name is missing from the list, while Lionel Messi, who has won the Ballon d’Or seven times in his career, is making a strong return. The competition promises to be a showdown between the old guard, represented by players like Modric and Lewandowski, and the rising stars, including striker Haaland, defender Gvardiol, and Mbappé.


The Candidates for the 2023 Ballon d’Or

  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/Al Hittihad)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City)
  • Josko Gvardiol (Lipsia/Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham/Bayern Monaco)
  • Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint Germain)
  • Leo Messi (PSG/Inter Miami)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Monaco)
  • André Onana (Inter/Manchester United)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Vinicius (Real Madrid)
  • Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
  • Nicolo Barella (Inter)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
  • Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • Randal Kolo Muani (Eintracht Francoforte/PSG)
  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/Real Madrid)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Yassine Bounou (Siviglia/Al-Hilal)
  • Julian Alvarez (Manchester City)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  • Rodri (Manchester City)
  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Barcellona)
  • Kim MinJae (Napoli/Bayern Monaco)
  • Victor Osimhen (Napoli)


The Candidates for the 2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or

  • Georgia Stanway (Bayern Monaco)
  • Olga Carmona (Real Madrid)
  • Fridolina Rolfo (Barcellona)
  • Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)
  • Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns)
  • Hayley Raso (Manchester City/Real Madrid)
  • Amanda Ilestedt (Psg/Arsenal)
  • Millie Bright (Chelsea)
  • Salma Paralluelo (Barcellona)
  • Hinata Miyazawa (MyNavi Sendai)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg)
  • Daphne Van Domselaar (Twente/Aston Villa)
  • Alba Redondo (Levante)
  • Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid)
  • Kadidiatou Diani (Psg/Lione)
  • Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg)
  • Guro Reiten (Chelsea)
  • Patricia Guijarro (Barcellona)
  • Sam Kerr (Chelsea)
  • Debinha (Kansas City Current)
  • Aitana Bonmati (Barcellona)
  • Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg)
  • Yui Hasegawa (Manchester City)
  • Jill Roord (Wolfsburg/Manchester City)
  • Katie McCabe (Arsenale)
  • Wendie Renard (Lione)
  • Asisat Oshoala (Barcellona)
  • Mary Earps (Manchester United)
  • Mapi Leon (Barcellona)
  • Khadija Shaw (Manchester City)


The Candidates for the 2023 Yashin Prize

  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla/Al Hilal)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Ederson (Manchester City)
  • Dominik Livakovic (Dinamo Zagreb/Fenerbache)
  • Mike Maignan (Milan)
  • Emiliano Dibu Martinez (Aston Villa)
  • André Onana (Inter/Manchester United)
  • Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
  • Brice Samba (Lens)
  • Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona)


The Candidates for the 2023 Kopa Prize

  • Alejandro Balde (Barcelona)
  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/Real Madrid)
  • Eduardo Camavinga (Barcelona)
  • Gavi (Barcelona)
  • Rasmus Hojlund (Atalanta/Manchester United)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
  • Pedri (Barcelona)
  • Antonio Silva (Benfica)
  • Xavi Simons (PSV Eindhoven)
  • Elie Wahi (Lille)


Who Won the Ballon d’Or in 2022?

  • Ballon d’Or: Karim Benzema
  • Women’s Ballon d’Or: Alexia Putellas
  • Kopa Award: Gavi
  • Yashin Prize: Thibaut Courtois


The Favorites to Win the 2023 Ballon d’Or

Traditionally, the Ballon d’Or often goes to the winners of the most recent World Cup, and this year is no exception. Lionel Messi stands as the front-runner, having completed his trophy collection by adding the World Cup to his list of achievements. He’s now on the cusp of securing his eighth Ballon d’Or. However, he faces stiff competition from Erling Haaland, who boasts a Treble with Manchester City and an impressive 44 goals from the previous season. While Mbappé may seem slightly out of the running due to his Ligue 1 title win, the candidacy of Rodri, the scorer of the winning goal in the Champions League final and a cornerstone of Guardiola’s Citizens, should not be underestimated.